forest_ice

forest_ice

she/her 🏳️‍⚧️
Aug 18, 2023
i was "saved" last year. when the police showed up at my place for a "welfare check", i was put in handcuffs, dragged through triage intake (don't forget the covid test swab), and ultimately hospitalized. i was later told---in involuntary therapy---that the vast majority who attempt suicide regret it and say that it always gets better.

*insert spongebob knee slap gif*
ok yeah we all know why we're here lmao.

the really fun part is just how bad it gets after they said that. what i'm about to share is worth a dozen content warnings. if anything in particular triggers you, just assume it's in here.

to revisit the last year or so, i was spending a lot of time lurking sasu, no account, no posts. i was a phd student. i had recently lost my funding and was put on a different job that worked me eighty hours a week. i was failing my classes with all the time i was spending on my job. my research fell off a building as i was narrating in the foreground, so to speak. i had also recently made the mistake of trying to buy a house. couldn't afford it anymore. even more, i was simultaneously suffering from a different abusive job as an intern for the military, where they were ramping up their expectations of me, wanting lethality enhancements across all of their guns, etc in that branch. yes, you did read that right. all. (i'm not really into missiles being used for killing kids, so...) to summarize, i was: struggling with my job, research, classes, affording a home, the military, oh and did i mention i'm trans? yeah i was having a gender crisis at the same time too. i really can't stress how awful it was to come out to myself during a time like that. in the height of covid, i'd go to bed at two in the morning and get back up at four just to go straight back to work. the thoughts that carried me to sleep were the lyrics of songs coded with so much gender envy and mental illness.