moondazed

moondazed

ex nihilo nihil fit
Oct 14, 2023
I've attempted to CTB on multiple occasions the last 12 years. The first was a very serious attempt to OD. I took probably over 60mg Xanax, 100mg of Librium, a sincere amount of alcohol to down it, and a handful of other pills lying around my apartment. I was unconscious for 3 days but eventually came to, and went to the hospital (they said I must have had a "strong will to live"). Since then I fell into a life of drugs and partying, until I eventually tried to get my shit together and went back to college. I graduated college 2 years ago (at 30) and have recently gotten a "good" job in my field. I thought that's what I needed, something to strive for. But even a year an a half into this job, I still feel empty.

I had a rough childhood. My family loved me but didn't have the means to raise me with stability, so I was shuffled between parents and grandparents, never living in a single location for more than a year. Then at 16 my 18 y/o sister, whom I was very close to, died in a traffic accident. That broke my already broken family even more. We don't celebrate holidays, and at this point, I hardly talk to them. I moved to a big city for my job when I graduated, and I've not been able to make friends. I have pretty severe adhd, major depression, general/social anxiety, the works. I try and meditate daily, I read self help and other psych books to try and get a grapple on my mental health. Have done therapy regularly until recently, as I wasn't finding any use in the "how does that make you feel" paradigm of therapy. Mostly I play video games to escape. Even that has become stale. I tend to make a lot of mistakes in my work and personal life. Forgetting to do little tidbits and getting chastised by roommates or coworkers for such things. There is an air of pity around me that I think keeps people from getting too upset. I just wish I were better.