snowman626

snowman626

Mage
Jan 28, 2019
joined a gym today and started doing treadmill, a few minutes later i tripped and fell off, a guy on the treadmill beside me helped me turn it off and asked if i was okay and i said "yeah im fine" and went off to do bike.

about 15 mins later i was done and started leaving, passed the same guy who was now sitting down doing weights and he saw me and asked again if i was okay and i said "yeah i'm good" and gave a thumbs up, then i left.

im socially retarded and dont know if this was the part where i was supposed to have said more things, elaborate on my condition, start a little conversation about how im new at the gym, introduce myself, etc. for people with social intelligence tell me whether i appeared antisocial/rude or am i overthinking

• Hugs
Reactions: Final Escape, puppy9, SadSack and 2 others
Relief

Relief

Oct 14, 2019
Personally I think it was a completely reasonable interaction. First, I'm sure it was a bit embarrassing to fall off the treadmill which could naturally lead to a less chatty version of one self. Second, conversations at the gym are the worse. They usually revolve around flirting and analyzing one's body. Third and final, I'm guessing you gave him a little smile or half-smile with the thumbs up which shows you are doing fine but not in a chatty mood (normal given the location). Although if the same happened at the park i wouldn't have the same perspective.

Reactions: Eurus
Sweet emotion

Sweet emotion

Enlightened
Sep 14, 2019
I'm very social. Maybe you could have thanked him for helping you. You didn't have to start a conversation but you definitely could have thanked him for being kind. Maybe talked a little bit. But it's up to you. If you're socially awkward that is ok. I know done people who are very shy and they want to talk but they just don't know how to.

P

pole

Global Mod
Sep 18, 2018