I like the background chatter
Or I code, as I'm a programmer
How do you deal with insomnia?

Reactions: Forveleth, Huntfish34, not-2-b-the-answer and 2 others
U

Unending

Enlightened
Nov 5, 2022
I listen to music generally or anything like that which doesn't require immediate attention and allows me to zone out. If the insomnia is bad, I'll pull out my laptop and browse the internet, maybe get a glass of water and walk around for a second. I know that staring and screens is generally bad for sleeping purposes but it doesn't seem to affect me too much since my insomnia is more anxiety/stress related. Sort of quells the mind.

Reactions: Forveleth, aSilentVoice, TCotton and 1 other person
LastFlowers

LastFlowers

the haru that can read
Apr 27, 2019
My insomnia is to the point that I wonder if even a horse tranquilizer could knock me out.
It has spit in the face of both OTC and prescription sleep meds plenty of times.
When I tried to have a sleep study performed, they couldn't end up performing it..because I wasn't able to fall asleep.
It's very bad.
Falling asleep, staying asleep, quality sleep..nice try, but no.
Since I am still exhausted, I usually try to distract myself with something passive (like a movie) but the mind continues to wander due to my hellish circumstances.
And sometimes these distractions have the opposite of the sought after effect and only wind up serving as painful reminders of my predicament.
So I just end up going online and typing my head off.
Or texting myself my thoughts so it feels like I'm giving them consideration and a rain check, as completely dismissing them is out of the question.
My brain seems to have a "mind" of its own, and an energy source that doesn't line up with the rest of the body.
This would be a good thing in and of itself, but conversely, there are no "good things" for it to latch onto and analyze, only nightmarish shit and disparities.

• Aww..
  • Hugs
Reactions: Forveleth, YosemiteGrrl, Yavannah and 4 others
jodes2