S

scientificmethid

Feb 12, 2024
I seem to feel much worse after therapy, for days after I just re-hash the stuff that's brought up. I've been doing talk therapy for over 18 months now and don't feel any change. How have you guys said you were cancelling future sessions without the therapist reporting you for SI? Thanks for the help.

• Hugs
Reactions: consider, Praestat_Mori and kyhoti
Life_and_Death

Life_and_Death

Do what's best for you 🕯️ Sometimes I'm stressed
Jul 1, 2020
tell them its not working out, its not for you

im personally surprised why my therapist didnt question it, but i told her i was advised that i should stop going to therapy.

Reactions: Praestat_Mori and scientificmethid
BoulderSoWhat

BoulderSoWhat

Aug 29, 2024
Hmmmmm, how do you feel about the therapist that you are seeing? Like do you feel like you click with them, or does it feel like you're talking past each other? It could just be maybe they aren't a good match to meet your needs.

Do you recall having done any goal setting, like S.M.A.R.T goals (Specific, Measurable, Achievable, Relevant, Time-based). Do you know if they are more specialized in particular therapies like CBT or DBT, which may or may not be what might be best for your goals?

Or, could it be that the things you rehash, if you're talking about things that are going on that are circumstances you're stuck in, I know therapy can feel almost useless while unable to get away from the roots of what's going on. Like for me, therapy while I was still living with my family did almost nothing, I still had recurrent ideation and went inpatient multiple times. Many years and life changes later, I'm not dependent on my family anymore and have disconnected from them. That has been absolutely crucial for me to at least feel less worse, while I figure out what it means for me to feel "good."