F

Funeralprincess

Death never turned on me
May 8, 2022
So, I am in my last year of college and last year, I had attempted multiple times in horrible manic depressive states. The residential staff at my school made many reports and now if I am to stay here, I am forced to go to an on campus mental health group which is a joke in and of itself-_-
There were many others who were forced to go to this group and we all looked absolutely miserable... The leader of the group is some "wholistic therapist" and she blatantly asks us if any of us ever tried to build bonds with people and most said yes, and they abandoned us because of our disability. She then suggests smiling more and trying to be happy, and perhaps going up to strangers to make friends…. I'm like lady, our college is NOT a good place to make friends. Why do neurotypical People try to give advice to neurodivergents? Like they speak advice through their lens failing to realize we don't fit in this world MOST of the time because of our illnesses.
She then proceeds to say us being socially awkward is why nobody is our friend and I'm like, ummm many mentally ill people have good social skills, but because they have a mental illness people don't stick around because they refuse to see past it, yet HOW MANY times have us as neurodivergents accepted a neurotypicals horrible flaws and behavior patterns? TOO MANY TO COUNT.

Like, why force us to go to a group where we are essentially told it's our fault and that if we just "smile more" that will suddenly make people like us? I feel people like this are why so many neurodivergent people just give up on therapy because there is so much ignorance within that field more than there is acceptance. I really struggle with dealing with neurotypical people and even the mentally ill people who recovered because they fail to see their good life is about pure luck and they seem to think we all have the same abundance when it comes to luck which, we don't.