CantGoOn

CantGoOn

Jun 7, 2018
As soon as I close the book I'm forgetting everything I just studied, I can't be expected to do anything because my memory is non existent. My focus is terrible, I can't learn while I'm only vaguely paying attention. I'm always drifting off when someone speaking to me, my mind goes completely blank and have no clue what the other person is saying. Years of drug abuse and depression have taken my focus and memory away.

A week ago I studied road signs, now I can't tell you one thing I remember.

Can't get a job without licence, can't be expected to learn, working with what's left of my brain. I'm fucking 24, and accomplished nothing.

Reactions: RaphtaliaTwoAnimals, worldexploder, Deutsch and 1 other person
satou

satou

not yet
Sep 3, 2018
Not sure if you want actual advice, if not, just ignore this.

Try a learning app. Like anki: https://apps.ankiweb.net
It will require you to invest time. But learning from a book isn't really all that effective, because your brain has no real desire to remember on first exposure unless it has a good reason to in form of emotion (happiness/fear etc).

Reactions: RaphtaliaTwoAnimals, Deutsch, Nofaith and 1 other person
Desperate_Soul

Desperate_Soul

I'll See You Guys On The Other Side Of The Rainbow
Aug 26, 2018
My focus is pretty bad too. I have to study the same things multiple times.
You can also check out Quizlet.com and see if someone has created a stack of study cards for you that relates to what you're trying to learn. You can study it like a normal flashcard, or you can play games or have it in 'test' mode to quiz yourself. :)

Reactions: RaphtaliaTwoAnimals, Deutsch, lv-gras and 2 others
CantGoOn

CantGoOn

Jun 7, 2018
Not sure if you want actual advice, if not, just ignore this.

Try a learning app. Like anki: https://apps.ankiweb.net