D

daleke

Oct 14, 2024
my parents are funding my entire university degree, so i don't have to worry about rent, tuition, or any expenses whatsoever. luckily they've also been pretty hands off and don't really care how i use my time as long as i seem like i'm doing fine. this has been a massive advantage for me. i'm studying computer science and somehow got a 4.0 gpa first year. not because i love computer science or am a math god, honestly i've just always been good at school. assessments are predictable, i have nothing better to do with my time, and doing schoolwork is a nice distraction. something controllable.

i don't feel accomplished, i feel exhausted and incompetent and miserable. i wake up filled with despair and down medicine to try to fall asleep before i think too much. it's becoming increasingly clear to me that my life beyond school requires more than churning out As. to get that 4.0 i basically alternated between rotting in bed and sitting at my computer. i have terrible people skills, am not creative, a good problem-solver. i genuinely have no skills other than grinding for standardized tests, and especially none that'd allow me to succeed in the tech field. i'm terrified of graduating into the so-called real world.

in every non-school experience where i've failed miserably. and yes i've had actual jobs and leadership positions and been a part of clubs. people say that you can improve, but i just... don't know how. it seems people just naturally get better as they practice more and yet that's not happening to me. i can't say it's for lack of trying because i do try to get involved and because i'm proactive i get opportunities, i just can't seem to flourish in any of them. i never quite live up to the image people have of me in their head. teachers, classmates, friends, family, whatever.