H

Hyprodermic

Aug 21, 2023
Hi everyone,
I am not very good at introductions so I will just get into the venting. Also sorry if my English is not the best.

I am 30 years old and live in Germany. I have had depression since I was 15 years old. Obviously it was not too bad back then, but it got worse with time up until now where I have a "very severe depression". I took antidepressants with no positive effect. And when I was 27 I was admitted to a mental health clinic. At the time I had a bachelor degree in electrical engineering and was working as a software developer at a big firm. I did not have many social contacts and I never had a girlfriend and I was still living with my parents. I felt like I had accomplished nothing in my life. I could not work anymore so my psychiatrist send me to the mental health clinic.

In a way that was the best thing that ever happened to me, because I actually met someone who eventually became my girlfriend. We had almost arrived at the same time and spend 6 weeks together (I was there a total of 8 weeks) and we both fell in love with each other. So after we both were out and got together, the best time of my life began. I actually felt better. Obviously I still had my problems because depression does not just vanish like that. Also we had our ups and downs with the relationship but that is also normal. A little over a year ago we also moved together. And all was well.

Now I am someone who never did and still does not have any dreams or goals in his life. Which probably is a big part of why I am depressed. So all I did the last 2 years and 8 months (which we are together) was for her. She was basically the reason I even functioned. So her goals became mine. She wants to get a dog, marry and build a house in the next 2-3 years and then maybe even get children. I was unsure if I really wanted these things too, but I thought I would. So I tried to work towards it.