fsociety

fsociety

Mar 25, 2024
Hello community!

Somehow I feel like a lot of people here are still live at home or don't work, just living into the day, maybe I'm wrong!

But for those who work and have an appartment, bills to pay, cook for themselves etc. How do you manage all of that?

Beside going to work depression consumes me and I don't do anything that isn't necessary… My apartment is a mess, everywhere Pizza cartons, dishes, plastic trays from microwave food because that's the only thing I can handle (putting something into the microwave 10min and eat). I was a good lover before depression but now imagining standing in the kitchen with no 100% distraction like scrolling through my phone seems like a torture.. Taking showers (I don't really need to because I'm a male nurse and work alone with 80+ year old people, so they don't care), brushing teeth at least once a day because I'm scared to get tooth pain again. Beside work I just lay around and scroll my phone…

The weird thing is: I can work, so shouldn't I be able to do some household chores when I can work? But every task not necessary is too much for me. I need some fucking discipline..

Reactions: Daryl72
card1nal

card1nal

trying to find peace by whatever means possible :)
Jan 23, 2023
As much as I hate when people say this, genuinely start by not scrolling on your phone and/or giving yourself a time limit. I have ADHD and one thing I struggle with is doomscrolling for hours as a form of dissociation. Once I started giving myself time limits or supplementing scrolling with another activity when I felt the urge, I already felt more productive, even if I wasn't doing shit lol. Your brain gets tiny, constant hits of dopamine when scrolling, so you kind of need to train yourself to not feel the need for it.