R

releasefrompain

Aug 26, 2024
Does this setup look reasonable? The rope is 12mm nylon, with a bowline knot to the railing. I would climb noosed over the handrail and lower myself carefully. The noose is high up because if it were much lower then it might not be a full suspension. But I'm not sure if the noose is too high or too low or just right. I really hope this setup location will work, as it seems to be my only option in my home. (Thankfully I live home alone, and I feel badly for people who don't.) I'm not good with these physics sorts of things and really want to make sure I get this right. IMG 0984

• Informative
Reactions: Marco77, AlouA, Worndown and 2 others
S

sadyogi

Sep 5, 2024
I hope this doesn't sound crass, but do you have a tape measure? You can just make the measurements to see if the heights/lengths work out.

Then at the bottom of the stairs, grab the rope with your hands to see if the railing and rope will support your body weight.

• Love
  • Informative
Reactions: Plato'sCaveDweller, opheliaoveragain and Praestat_Mori
R

releasefrompain

Aug 26, 2024
I hope this doesn't sound crass, but do you have a tape measure? You can just make the measurements to see if the heights/lengths work out.

Then at the bottom of the stairs, grab the rope with your hands to see if the railing and rope will support your body weight.
I'm not insulted by your reply at all and appreciate it. I do have a tape measure, but I don't think know what to measure. My arm length to the railing? The length of my body from my neck down to the nearest accessible stair? Etc.

Because of my health condition, I'm not strong enough to hold my full body weight up (155 pounds) on the rope, and not being able to test the weight puts the anchor at risk for failing. :(

S

scubadam

just a guy trying to find peace
Aug 4, 2024